School Council 2020

The School Council is the mandated governing body of Fairfield Primary School. All government schools have a school council that is represented by parents, community and Department of Education and Training staff. Our School Council serves an integral role in school accountability and improvement processes, enhancing the educational opportunities for students and ensuring compliance with relevant legislation and regulations.

School Council functions include:

  • Establish the broad direction and vision of the school within the school’s community
  • Participate in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • Develop, review and update school policies, including the Student Engagement Policy and the School Dress Code
  • Raise funds for school-related purposes
  • Approve the annual budget and monitor expenditure
  • Maintain the school’s grounds and facilities
  • Enter into contracts (e.g. cleaning, construction work)
  • Report annually to the school community and to DE&T
  • Generally stimulate interest in the school in the wider community

Each member of school council plays a leading role in a nominated sub-committee: Community, Buildings and Grounds, Policy, Finance.


The 2020/21 Fairfield Primary School Council membership is as follows:

  • President & Parent Representative: Bronwyn Wolfgang
  • Vice President & Parent Representative: Andrew Vance
  • Executive Officer & DET Representative: Paul Wallace
  • Treasurer & Parent Representative: Nathan Smeaton
  • Secretary & Parent Representative: Sarah Glass
  • Parent Representative: Elise Coughlin
  • Parent Representative: Louise Curry
  • Parent Representative: Daniel Emeny
  • Parent Representative: Kim Gordon
  • DET Representative: Sarah Abbott
  • DET Representative: Prue Middleton
  • DET Representative: Jade O’Grady

*DET – Department of Education and Training